APPENDIX 1: Timeline Timor-Leste Constitution Building Process

1975 November 28	Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste declared independence
1975 December 7	Indonesian troops invaded Timor-Leste
1983 March 24	Local Ceasefire negotiated in Timor-Leste, rejected in Jakarta
1989 February 6	Bishop Belo called for UN Consultation on Timor-Leste
1991 November 12	Dili massacre
1996 December 10	Nobel Peace Prize for Bishop Belo and Ramos-Horta
1998 April	Founding of National Council for East Timorese Resistance (CNRT)
1998 July 23	Indonesian President Habibie offered autonomy to Timor-Leste
1998 August 4-5	UN, Portugal, and Indonesia began talks on Timor-Leste
1998 August	Fretilin Draft Constitution approved at Australia Congress
1999 January 27	Habibie announced ready to relinquish Timor-Leste if vote is no
1999 May 5	New York Agreement for UN Consultation signed
1999 August 30	UN Consultation ballot: 78.6% for independence
1999 September 15	INTERFET: International Peacekeeping Force authorised
1999 October 20	Indonesian Peoples Assembly approved transfer of Timor-Leste
1999 October 25	UNTAET authorised by UN Security Council Indonesia transferred administration of Timor-Leste to UN Sergio de Mello appointed Special Representative of Secretary General for Timor-Leste
1999 December 2	Timor-Leste National Council appointed
2000 February 24	UNTAET assumed security responsibilities from INTERFET
2000 June 21	UNTAET and CNRT agreed on structure for new National Council
2001 July 12	Joint Cabinet appointed for East Timor Transitional Administration
2000 August 21	CNRT Congress: Fretilin and UDT withdrew from CNRT

2000 October 20	New Timor-Leste National Council appointed
2000 December 12	National Council adopted draft timetable for transition
2001 January 14-24	Public hearings on draft timetable
2001 January 31	UNTAET mandate extended to January 31, 2002.
2001 February 23	Constituent Assembly elections set for August 30, 2001
2001 March 28	Gusmao resigned as the head of the National Council
2001 May 7	Political party registration began
2001 June 18-July 14	UNTAET Constitutional Commissions hearings in districts
2001 August 25	Gusmao announced candidacy for president
2001 August 30	Constituent Assembly elections held: Fretilin majority
2001 September 15	Timor-Leste's new Constituent Assembly sworn in
2001 September 20	Mari Alkatiri appointed head of Cabinet of ETTA
2001 October 22	Constituent Assembly requested independence on May 20, 2002
2001 November 30	Constituent Assembly approved draft structure for constitution
2002 January 31	UNTAET mandate extended to May 20, 2002 Constituent Assembly voted to forgo new elections to become parliament on independence
2002 February 9	Draft Constitution approved by Constituent Assembly
2002 February 24- March 2 Public consultations held on draft Constitution	
2002 March 22	Timor-Leste's Constituent Assembly approved Constitution
2002 April 14	Gusmao elected President as independent with 83 percent of vote
2002 April 26	UNMISET authorised to succeed the current UNTAET
2002 May 20	Independence for Timor-Leste